About Divergify

Divergify is place to share my family’s divergent journey while celebrating and learning from other divergent minds, bodies, & experiences.

Diverge means to proceed in an unanticipated direction, to deviate from the norm, to depart from societal expectations. Divergent describes almost every aspect of my life and my family: Domestic Violence, Single Parenthood, Twice Exceptionality, Multiculturalism (Biracial, Latina daughter, German-American family, and previously lived in Ghana, India, and Bangladesh), Disabilities (Autism, ADHD, Sensory Processing Disorder, PTSD, Chronic Pain, Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome), and Alternative Education (homeschooling, unschooling, hybrid schooling, outdoor education).

I previously felt ashamed of my life story and alienated from my peers, considering myself a disappointment who did everything wrong and was just plain weird. As I’ve become more involved in divergent communities, I’ve grown to love my journey and differences. I’m proud who I am, the way I think, and how I adapt to changing circumstances. I’m proud of my divergent daughter and how she is growing and learning to advocate for herself and others. We have worked hard to love ourselves in a society that doesn’t accept us and wasn’t built for us.

My dream is to see a cultural shift in which divergence is viewed positively and conventional individuals desire to divergify their lives. Divergent communities have been educating me in ways that I’ve never experienced in mainstream culture, and I want to share these lessons with you. Follow our journey, celebrate divergence, and learn more from divergent minds, bodies, and experiences on the Divergify blog.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started